Who can apply?
A Brisbane Boys’ College (BBC) student who is a new applicant to Emmanuel or a former BBC student who is an existing resident.

Value of scholarship
part relief of residential fees up to $5,000

This scholarship is awarded to a former BBC student (new or returning to Emmanuel) who:

  • shows sound academic ability and performance
  • exhibits leadership qualities and positive peer support
  • has a keen interest in sport and/or cultural activities and
  • has made a contribution to the community (evidenced at BBC, Emmanuel and/or wider).

The scholarship was established in 2017 by BBC Old Boys John Wylie AM and Michael Wood to acknowledge Graham Thomson’s longstanding service to education and the community, and pays tribute to his significant leadership, student mentoring and personal generosity.

Scholarship recipients are expected to correspond with their benefactors at least twice a year.

Graham Thomson AM

Graham Thomson completed his primary education at the Winton State School and the Ingham Rural School, received his secondary education while boarding at Thornburgh College, Charters Towers, and went on to study a Bachelor of Commerce at The University of Queensland while resident at Emmanuel College in 1947.

His teaching career began as a trainee teacher at Thornburgh and Blackheath Colleges, Charters Towers, from 1945 to 1946. He taught at Brisbane Boys’ College (BBC) from 1948 to 1955 and at Phillips Academy, Massachusetts, USA, in 1973. He assumed an administrative career when he was appointed Principal of Thornburgh and Blackheath Colleges (1956 to 1973; Interim Principal 1974) and BBC from 1974 to 1989 and again in 1996. Graham taught generations of BBC students about the value of participation and “having a go”.

Graham was inducted into the fellowship of Emmanuel College in 2009 and the fellowship of International House in 2010. He was Development Director at Stuartholme School from 2006 to 2011 and has acted as Honorary Advancement Advisor at Emmanuel. Graham is a Life Member of the Australian College of Educators. He was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 1995 for his contribution to education.